To continue our “I is for ice-cream” theme, we made another ice-cream craft. This was quite simple and I just made it up at the spur of the moment.

Basically, all you need is:

  • Cotton circles (cotton balls would work just fine, and we did use them later)
  • Brown felt for the cone (or brown construction paper)
  • Q-tips
  • Food coloring
  • Water

All I did was add a few drops of the food coloring to the water, which was placed in different containers. Then I helped BirBir glue the cotton circles and the felt cone on the paper. Afterwards, I handed her the Q-tips and let her “paint”.

It was really fun watching her do this. She really enjoyed how the colored water would spread out slowly when it touches the cotton.

After she finished the craft, she wanted more cotton! All I had was the regular cotton balls. That didn’t stop her 🙂

How else do you use cotton balls or cotton circles in your activties with your kids?

 

